Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Cotton Field

Drove back from Atlanta today and decided to forego the pleasures of I-75 for most of the journey and cut across to Savannah on I-16 and then travel on the more familiar I-95.

Travelling to Atlanta on Wednesday, I saw quite a few cotton fields and made a mental note to try and photograph one on the return home.

Having driven along I-16 for two hours, it was time for a rest stop and more importantly a cigarette break. I never smoke and drive. We headed off the Interstate and pulled in to Po Jo's restaurant and filling station.

I had to look up the location on Google because it was just basically the filling station and restaurant. It turns out the place was Register, Georgia, on US Highway 301.

I registered delight when I saw that the adjacent field was a cotton field. It still had some cotton bolls but I have the feeling the main crop had been harvested and these bolls were ones that came afterwards and are probably not worth the time and trouble to harvest.*

I have kind of lost touch with growing cotton since leaving Tara. :-)

Anyway, I was pleased to have accomplished my goal. Some times I do get lucky but only some times.

I will back blip a picture from Atlanta either later today or tomorrow. At the moment, dinner takes pride of place. I haven't eaten since 9:30 a.m., although I did fill up on hash browns and bacon at the Hyatt Hilton, followed by melon, pineapple and a croissant, with the obligatory three cups of coffee and three cigarettes.

Have a good weekend y'all!

*Post-dinner note: Apparently cotton in Georgia is harvested between October 5 and November 15, according to the Southeast Farm Press, so this crop is approaching harvest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.