On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Notebooks I have known.

I was going to do a blip on Brain Surgery today but it will have to wait!

In sorting things out I came across a stack of these notebooks that I used in the late 1960s & early 1970s when in Edinburgh. I used to get them (as the front cover testifies) from Brown of the Mound, a favourite shop of mine at the time. This one was 2 shillings and 8 pence, you will see.

I filled the notebooks with very heady ramblings and the problem now is that it is mostly stuff I do not want to read or inflict on anyone else. If only I'd have been more descriptive of what was going on around me (rather than within me) in Edinburgh there might be something I'd be happy to salvage.

The one thing I will keep is the pencil sketch on the front, a copy of an old engraving of Edinburgh. I have never done anything like it since but I do rather like it.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.