On My Doorstep

By bwhere

A Jigsaw

These two pieces of late Iron Age pottery (around 2000 years old) were found 40 cms down in two separately dug pits about 6 feet apart. They are equally abraded (or worn) as a result of being tossed around in the soil probably as a result of cultivation.

Repeated finds of this pottery at 40 cms suggest that the Iron Age ground surface was that much lower than it is today. An interesting point in its own right.

But the really amazing thing is that these two pieces fit together. From a hand-made pot formed of a coil of clay one piece has broken into two along the line of the coil.

It was only because I arranged all my pottery finds on a physical grid that I noticed the similarity of the two pieces and fitted them together.

So, if I had to keep anything I have found in the back garden it would be these two pieces. I reunited them after many, many years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.