wedding Part 2

<back blip>

A lovely breakfast once more - today I loaded up on bacon, waffles and maple syrup mostly...

After M aand myself packing up and checking out; M, M-A, T, A-G and myself went into town to re-live one of M-A's memories of going on a jaunting car with mum and a couple uncles. It was a great experience, particularly as I had never been on them before. We went on a tour for about an hour with a break by a castle. The driver was a good laugh too. A-G napped mostly for the 1st part of the journey, but perked up for the reurn stretch. We ate out and then headed back to the hotel.

M-A went for a nap, with T looking after the little lady. M and I went for independent wanders but met up on the pitch and putt, where M tried to teach me some golf basics, that he's been learning recently himself. It was surprisingly fun!

We pootered down to a different hotel for the evening where the 2nd day of celebration was to be had. This was plaaned to be more of a chance to chat and a bit of a sing-song. The views were stunning (one pictured) and the weather over the last 2 days was ideal! I even saw a deer wandering across a portion of the lake. Unfortunately at this time the camera gave up on battery... as it had been pretty busy all day... So I just had to enjoy the moment for itself.

Our initial plan was to head back to the village via mum's grave tonight, and so affter an hour of sandwiches and chat M and I had to decide whether to stay or head on. After a bit of thought I realised that mum would be with the family in spirit and would prolly want us to make the most of the oppertunities to see them. In truth the grave will always be there and after visiting we would return to the house with only pops and his girlfriend - the latter of which can prove challenging to deal with at times. M looked into room booking and got us into this hotel for the night. This also meant that the drive to the airport would be shorter too!

Shortly after moving things into the new room (not quite as fancy as the other place, but the view's amazing), we returned to the gathering. I'd thought E's (my cousin's +1 that I sat next to during dinner) bringing a guitar was quite keen, but as people started to think about a sing-song etc... the other side of the family started whipping out instruments from random places! There ended up a violin, 2 guitars, an accordian, a wee squeeze box accordian thing, and a flute! The talent from that side began to flow and our side shut up and watched mostly... With random jigs and irish lullabies, even some Irish dancing... We suspected they had done this before and prepared a bit too thoroughly or were just stupidly talented. Unfortunately they were mostly songs in a different language to our own, we didn't know or ones that weren't really intended to be joined in with. After they started to pack up and move on at only 11pm, we stole E back with his guitar and started a few more well known ones. Even handier was E's preparation of having a wee song book that our lot could flick though and refresh the words of songs. I found this time MUCH more enjoyable.

As the night drew to a close everyone went back to the other hotel and M and I popped upstairs.



OOH:
things I forgot to mention earlier:

tweedle dee and tweedle dum
M and I now seem to have almost the same style beard, I met him in a wine long sleeve T, him in a puple shortsleeve. Turns out we both were wearing almost the identical shade of grey suit for the wedding - me in purple tie, him in pink! M-A was trying to teach A-G our names and it's not hard to see how she got confused as to which one was which! Although I am pretty chuffed she can say Mike :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.