Carpe Diem

My Day to date:-
I've done the early gym visit
I've blipped the amazing light patterns of the early sun on the meadows
I've put the washing into the machine and turned it on
I've had breakfast
I've hobbled to the shops and lugged back a heavy bag of shopping
I've hung up the washing in the airing cupboard
I've vacuumed and cleaned the Dower House floors
I've rearranged my work space
I've made a fruit loaf
I've had my lunch while reading the papers
I'm planning the evening meal with daughter #5, up from Yorkshire to visit friends.
I'm about to start preparing it.

So far, so mundane.

But now my foot is really hurting and I'm having to consider the possibility of being forced to drag one of those granny shopping trolleys behind me when I go to the shops again.
The extra weight of carrying home supplies to keep hunger at bay by hand is playing havoc with my plantar fasciitis.

I know it's possible to buy rather snazzy shopping trolleys these days as would befit a younger, vibrant granny, but unfortunately the one I have tucked away is black and distinctly elderly itself.
It's all so terribly ageing.
I last used it about 14 years ago to lug around my art stuff and at that time it looked quite inconspicuous, as befitted a self deluded aspiring artist.
It still smells vaguely of turpentine and linseed oil.

Meanwhile, I must get on. It's no use feeling sorry for your self.
As my mother said:- Laugh and the world laughs with you, weep and you weep alone.
A lady who knew how to bolster you spirits!

So, Carpe Diem and all that jazz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.