tempus fugit

By ceridwen

The books I bought in London

It's no secret that I'm a book junkie and although I only entered one charity shop in Hampstead (not the cheapest place!) these four came home with me.
There's a selection of Robert Frost's poetry about which I have some reservations  (and indeed the only page corner turned down marked The Road Less Travelled) but it comes with an excellent introduction by the late Ian Hamilton, which helps to sort the wheat from the chaff.
Next, a novel called The Lazarus Project by Aleksandar Hemon, a young  Bosnian writer who has taken as his starting point the 1908 shooting, by the chief of police in Chicago,  of an earlier young man from Sarajevo, against the background of the anti-anarchist panic of that time.
Then there's Notes from Russia, "a portrait of the Russian street told through its public notices" - messages, love letters, job offers, pleas for missing pets and so on, all found pasted up on walls and fences and documented here.
Finally, I always buy classic cook books whenever I see them cheap, to pass on to others or to replace my tattered copies, and this old Elizabeth David Penguin was only 50p. I wasn't until I looked at it in the train today that I discovered it was signed on the title page, in green ink,  by the REAL kitchen goddess herself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.