Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Lunch Is Served

With cooler temperatures today in Jacksonville I was able to wander further afield on my photographic walk. But as is so often the case, today's blip was the last shot taken and so I could have saved my legs. :-)

I saw this sign outside an Italian restaurant -- Primi Piatta -- on Park Street. Of course, me taking the picture aroused the curiosity of the owner. Once again, my English charm worked a treat and we chatted for 20 minutes or so.

It turns out that he was of Italian stock and immigrated -- I hate that word, what is wrong with emigrate? -- to the United States from Argentina where he was a professional footballer. He mentioned the name of the club he played for but it was not one I recognized. Needless to say, with that disclosure the conversation turned to the World Cup, Argentina and Lionel Messi.

He moved to Jacksonville five years ago from Virginia and like me, he was quick to spot that the city/town is about 10 years behind the times.

He was also sympathetic to my predicament regarding my employment, or rather lack of it, status.

And being British, I failed to introduce myself or ask his name but we did part with a handshake. :-)

So all in all, an enjoyable morning's walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.