Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Power Pole

Found it hard to apply myself on this morning's walk. Not sure why, especially as the weather is perfect for getting out and about.

It could be post-Atlanta depression but I think not. I enjoyed my day in the city but it was not a place that I particularly warmed to, other than it was nice to be in a big city.

I cannot really blame my sporting heroes -- both Stoke City and the Jacksonville Jaguars recorded victories at the weekend.

I know the death of Sir Norman Wisdom saddened me a little from the point of view that another cultural icon from my formative years is no longer with us -- "Mr Grimsdale!"

I remember as a small boy watching a double bill of The Square Peg (1958) and The Bulldog Breed (1960) at the Odeon cinema at Rhyl, North Wales, during the summer holidays one year. At a guess it was either 1961 or 1962. And later I used to watch his films when they featured on TV.

It could be hearing from a former colleage on the weekly newspaper I worked on when I first became a journalist. I haven't been in touch with him for 18 years and the thought of having to describe my life here in the United States is somewhat depressing -- no American Dream for me, more like an American nightmare.

My wife's birthday is coming up in two weeks and that kind of brings the spotlight fully on my reduced circumstances. She deserves so much better than what I can afford, although they do say that it's the thought that counts.

It may even have been the prospect of having to do the yard work on my return from my walk.

Whatever it was, I was in a blah kind of mood and not a lot interested me from a photographic point of view.

The pick of a poor selection of photographs -- at least to my mind, my wife having gone for something completely different -- was the shadow cast by this power pole on the corner of Cherry Street and Post Street.

Once again, it was the last shot I took this morning. I think a pattern may be developing here.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.