Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Beyond Repair

I got a flu shot this morning at my wife?s workplace ? the Bank of America Tower in downtown Jacksonville. I caught the trolley, which is a fairly frequent bus service from Riverside to downtown, and it cost $1 each way. I basically jumped at the chance to get away from Riverside midweek.

With the flu shot administered, I wandered the downtown area. The cooler weather and it being lunch time meant that people were actually out on the streets. Reels in shock and horror! :-)

Eventually, I espied this old broken piano outside a building on Houston Street. I immediately sensed the photographic possibilities and took several shots. This one is my wife?s choice. It tells the story, she says. I preferred the ones of the piano wires stretched across the frame. Oh well.

The piano was made by Schiller & Co of Oregon, Illinois. I would have researched the company had my Internet service not gone down between 12:30 and 1:00 this morning.

I am having to post this picture from Panera Bread using my wife?s laptop.

AT&T does not live up to the glossy image of its TV adverts when it comes to restoring one?s service. Two phone calls today by my wife have failed to see a repair effected. A third call has just revealed a major cable fault in the Riverside area and it could be October 18 before normal service is resumed.

To someone who depends on the Internet for information and as their sole means of communication to the outside world, that news did not go down well. I wonder how I am going to survive if it really does take that long to get my Internet service back.

And I thought yesterday was a bad day. :-)

Thanks to everyone who commented on yesterday's photo and your kind words. Until normal Internet service is resumed, it is going to difficult for me to reply individually. In fact, it may even be hard for me to post future blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.