An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

House Finch

Today I was sitting on the couch when the sickening "THUD" sound came. I got up knowing that another bird had flown into our large windows and I went looking to find him. He was flat on his back at the back door, injured, and I could only assume dying. He was breathing hard, stunned, and blinking rapidly. I thought I was in for another bird tragedy so I sat with the little bird on the back stoop because, as I wrote in my journal today, "No creature should have to be alone when it dies." I talked to him and told him I was sorry. Eventually I moved and it frightened him into popping up onto his feet. He sat still and chirped a few times. Then he flew a very short distance from our deck to the azalea tree where he found this perch and stayed for several hours. I kept checking in on him but he didn't move for a long time. Finally when I checked again he was gone and I can only hope he needed a little time to gather himself and recover. I vowed that I would find a way to try to keep the birds from flying into our windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.