Instography

By Instography

Feeling underwhelmed with the photographic possibilities being offered by my usual walk to work and disappointed at the results of my 'slice' photo in the morning, I headed out at lunchtime with the clear intention of unashamedly "embracing" either the Bremnerotype demonstrated admirably here by The Doctor or the delicate monochrome representation of autumnal decay posted by Blob. If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, it was going to be a lunchtime of fawning sycophancy.

I did both and was pleased with the results but I've been quite taken with a few photos of the fountain in Princes Street Gardens. From a distance and in colour it's an outrageously garish and overblown folly. But up close it has some really nice details and today, there was quite a firm wind blowing and with the low sun shining through and reflecting off the water, I was enjoying what it was doing. I don't usually find myself having difficulty choosing but today, what with my facsimiles and my own, I've been conflicted but I won't bore you with the alternatives. I might need to do them again tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.