Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

I Love Liverpool.

This was the shot I was planning for today, tho I went quick on the edits. It was inspired by watching Gilden work and I tried to shoot street today but get up in people's faces. I learned that, surprisingly, shoving a DSLR in someone's face works even when they're not a musician on stage. People genuinely don't seem to mind, or notice, or realise it's them you're shooting.

I also rocked my camera on Aperture mode today, inspired by a chat a whlle back with MobileVirgin (props to him for that tip) - for street, I'm finding it means a lot less hassle and camera playing as I walk, since I can either go f/1.8 for main subject in focus plus background blur, or f/4--6 and get everything more or less in focus, so I'm thinking about a lot less of the techie stuff and can simply focus on finding interesting people and being in the right place to shoot. Deffo gonna try this more often. More Aperture mode tips always welcome. ;-)

I'm going to be making an effort to shoot street a lot over the next year. Partly because I have a plan. Partly because I love it. There's another from today I really want to get up, but as the evening fell, I went to the Dispernsary on Renshaw St to meet a friend and, while waiting, there was a car crash outside. Car turned off into the side road the pub is on, and a bike went into the side of it. Very nasty, and a strong reminder of a similar crash I'd witnessed on the motorway years back. The sounds were what stood out the most for me. I was fumbling about with my camera, and I just heard the sounds and instantly knew what was happening. I (obviously) didn't shoot any of that, but it left me feeling a little shaken for a while afterwards.

More tomorrow, I'm gonna get an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.