Why studying here is different for me #scper2010

Whereas in the Netherlands my course has little relation to the practical side of what we are going to do after our bachelor, here this is not the case. In the Netherlands, our course is very broad and there is nobody who has graduated from it yet. What we are going to do after our studies is unknown and varies between the people depending on the choices we make. We look at issues from different perspectives, we try to understand society, and I really enjoy learning about it. It's up to ourselves what we will do with this information, how we can relate it to what we are going to do when we graduate.

In most of my classes here - which I follow with journalism and publicity students - the relationship with practice is closer. In my medios course for instance, when we learn about models of consumer behaviour, we moreover look at how we can use this knowledge to our advantage when publishing or advertising. Often we look at how information that we have can be useful to us, how we can use it in our future carreers (as journalists).

When today in my class Sociedad de la Comunicación there were four young journalists telling about their experiences, I knew that this was not something I would have in the Netherlands. If I would have it, it would be outside of class, organized by a (study) organisation.


On a sidenote, I am not saying that this is a difference between studying in the Netherlands and in Argentina, but it is a difference for me. There are plenty of courses that are more practical in the Netherlands and I bet there are also less practical courses in Argentina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.