Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Winding Up

It's almost midnight and soon the Master will awake and I haven't wound the clocks yet...

Spooky Friday everyone.

Enlarge


Caution Tech Stuff:

Today's little terror starts with an old Chinese wind up clock but not on the side. First I shot fire on the right side of the clock with the clock face black. Then the left side with the face black. The third image is the clock face lit by flame alone. I added those 3 pieces together using the screen blending mode.

Then I shot 2 small clock winding keys both were good choices but I settled on the knob version. After cutting out the background on the key I then setup to shoot myself so it looked like I was straining on the knob.

I knocked myself out from my white background and then sized myself to the right size for holding the knob. Before importing myself into Photoshop I made myself a smart object in the RAW image converter. By doing this it let me return to make color adjustments since I needed to look like I was shot with candle light not a bunch of white strobes. Another side benefit of making me a smart object was being able to resize myself several times without image degradation.

Final placement holding the key into the side of the clock. There is no opening so I have to make one and shorten the shaft on the winder. A little cleanup and some sharpening to the clock face and we're done...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.