CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Which one is Dennis?

I awoke from a strong and visually vivid dream, which is quite unusual these nights/days. Helena was about to go to one of Maggie P's dreamwork weekends, which she hasn't been to for some years. I know we both feel slight trepidation when we attend these; and then we return amazed at how supportive it is for that inner journey.

I, on the other hand, having dropped her off, went to Sainsbury's. I spotted a possible Blip in the car park, about some architectural features that had been preserved when they built this boring red-brick shop/warehouse on the edge of town. I looked at the information plate hung on the new wall next to the two preserved Cotswold stone door arches, which now allowed access to the Recycling zone.

It noted how:
the Clothiers House which formerly stood here, had the clothier's mark etched in stone above the portal (which had been preserved in situ). At one time these clothier's marks were used to identify who had produced each cloth offered for sale. The mark of a reputable clothier was a matter of pride and he might carve it on his mill or as here on his house. Sometimes it appears on his tombstone or brass memorial.

As I tried miserably to use the video camera in the dank light to record something worthwhile for you blippers, a man came up and asked what I was doing. I explained and pointed out what I was interested in and then he said he was a metal detector enthusiast and had found many articles in the area, some of which are now in the Museum. But in particular, he mentioned the lead seals he had found with similar markings to the ones we were looking at, which were used to tie up bales of wool or cloth. It makes total sense ? having a unified "logo" ? even if it was 400 years ago. I was delighted to meet Mike C. and wished we had swapped addresses. I did get him to pose beside the plaque, but as usual it was a **** picture.

So I went to town to get some sourdough rye bread from Sunshine, a local wholefood emporium. I passed by Dennis' stall at the entrance to the Shambles, one of the oldest parts of Stroud's town centre. We had a fun chat and he told me good news about a mutual friend who had just had an operation. I told him about Blipfoto and asked if I could use his picture. He was very happy about that, but is really not very interested in an online world.

Dennis is a wonderful feature of Stroud life. I have known him for years through Helena, and they often appear together at poetry gigs and benefits of all kinds. I would vote for Dennis Gould as a living national treasure, just as the Japanese do for their artists. He has this book stall, where he also sells his posters, postcards and printed poems which he hand-prints using his ancient traditional wood presses. I would like to blip him at work one day.

Whilst we chatted, a gentleman politely asked if he could interrupt our natter to buy a book. I think Dennis prefers to chat than to sell. Can you tell who is who? If you ever come here, do go and talk to him and delight in his presence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.