Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Von Ribbentrop's house

I read today in the Mail-Online that "Joachim von Ribbentrop, the Fuhrer's foreign minister, planned to live in St Michael's Mount, one of the most beautiful locations in the country." Apparently researchers have found out that he made a deal with Hitler to be given the county of Cornwall after the war and had given orders to the Luftwaffe not to bomb the areas he liked. It might explain why so few bombs came this way, the only one that ever hit St Ives was supposed to be an accident as a plane was getting rid of unused bombs before it landed back in France and happened to hit the gasworks.

Its a horrible grey day today so reading this article inspired me to drive over to Marazion and take some pics of the Mount in the mist. When I got there the road had been closed by the police as its a 20 Metre high-tide today and with the waves coming from the South I guess they were breaking over the road so I ended up at Longrock instead. It was so grey and the air was full of sea spray so I decided to accentuate this and crank the camera up to maximum ISO. I am off to give the camera a rubdown now as it got all salty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.