Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

The Secret Life of Trees

Bleurgh to Saturday clinics, bleak skies, flat light, and a pile of ironing that would frighten the French (no idea what that means but it's one of those sayings we've somehow acquired) which collectively mean photography has been given a back seat today.

I'm re-reading this book because, quite simply, it's wonderful.

It was a gift from my sister-in-law, who has impeccable literary taste.

Anyone who is even remotely interested in plants, the ecosystem and the beauty of the world around us will be enchanted by this book.

Colin Tudge is such an enthusiast he carries you along, with warm humour and the lightest of touches from his initial definition of a tree (a big plant with a stick up the middle!) through the history, the folklore and the science of trees...how and where they live, how they die and why they're so important to us as a species.

It can be read straight through or dipped into and either way you'll be amazed at what you learn without even realising you're learning it.

I'll re-read this a dozen times I'm sure and now I hope at least a couple of my blip friends will too.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.