tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Qu'est-ce qui pousse là?

I have already had several pounds of parasol mushrooms from this rough pasture on the coast, and today there was a fresh flush, still in their immature state before the caps open out like umbrellas: they are best for eating like this. I think I will do them 'à la Grecque' with lemon and olive oil, herbs and cardamom.

The name of this blip is the title of a French natural history guide to edible wild food that was part of my family's collection of mycology books when I was a child (I still have it). The shape of these juvenile specimens of Macrolepiota procera suggests why fungi have traditionally attracted such disapproval in some quarters: only the Devil could have thrust such mischievous little erections through the grass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.