serendipity

By shaelyn

Closed.

This is the amusement park where I worked this summer and the last. It is the oldest continuously operated amusement park in North America, and can be seen in a recent (current?) movie. It is also where I met my boy, and a year and a half later I'm still completely, giddily infatuated with him.

2 weeks ago, the park closed for the season, and today I went in through the service entrance for probably the last time ever, to pick up my last ever paycheck from them. Driving out, I stopped to take a photo of the main entrance from the road above, though it bears little comparison to the same gates on a sunny August day.

At times, I really, really hated working there. But overall, it was a really great place to spend two summers while I figured out what I wanted to do with my life, and it brought me to one of the most important people that will ever be in my life. I'm willing to have sweat through a few rough days (and bad uniform shirts) for that.

(Sidenote: I'm recommitting to blipfoto today. I haven't been a good blipper lately, but hopefully it's never too late to get back on track. Here goes nothing.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.