Deeside Diaries

By LadyP

Ooo, it's yummy!

So, today I decided to do something with the Elderberries. I decided wine was a bit out of my league so went for something simpler - syrup.

Strip the berries from the stalks with a fork, put in pan.
Simmer the berries in water - just enough to cover them, for 20 mins.
Strain the juice & pulp through muslin (or as I did, the cutoff lower leg of a pair of tights). Squash the berries to get the juice out.
For each pint of juice, add a lb of sugar. I only got a 1/2 pint but this was ok for experimentation purposes.
Put back in pan, boil for 10 mins - added some grated nutmeg & a dash of cinnamon to taste.
Let cool before bottling/jarring or whatever.

I decided to freeze mine in one of those ice cube baggie things. I made a right mess, as one of the cats brought a mouse in and everything got dropped while I caught it to put it back out again (blooming thing was brought back in 10 mins later by the soddin' cat again, so another chase was on - that time, mouse was out, cats were in - no arguing!).

I can pop a cube out and either allow to melt in lemonade or defrost for pouring over ice cream.

BTW, it is absolutely delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.