meccanica

By meccanica

assessment

It's bad enough taking a shy boy from a small town and making him stand up in front of young impressionable people, let alone requiring me to tell them when they are screwing up.

I'm getting better at assessing all the time and have well and truly accepted that in my job it is a necessary evil but I still hate it when I feel the need to give anything below a 7 out of 10 - despite realising that if I don't say something now someone may never say something until as a young designer they design some kids toy that explodes in a hail of easily swallowed, lead coated yet sweet-tasting parts on contact with your average 2 year old.

What I need is for them to hear the feedback earlier and them to have ways of responding, without it being me telling them how to do each step...

[Thinking out loud pause amongst a pile of end-of-year assessments.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.