Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Chinese Takeaway

This was about the best thing about today. It's been a muddly chaotic day.

First off, the cushion on my sofa had been shredded by Felix during the night.

Second, I drove the Wonderspouse to the bus stop. The bus didn't come. We came home again, and then had to go back an hour and a bit later for the next bus.

Third, my best friend called to say he was back from various medical appointments and I should come over and visit him at about 4, for tea, before collecting the Wonderspouse from a book talk. I called the Wonderspouse to make arrangements.

Fourth, I tried doing cleaning, but was still too exhausted from the flu jab, so I watched a videoed programme about how top primary school kids can't do maths! As a lover of maths I find this rather odd - a lot of the teachers were saying what a nightmare it was teaching maths!

Fifth, my best friend called again to say his doctor had called and said the results of the morning's tests indicated that he should be in hospital so don't come for tea after all. I called the Wonderspouse again with revised arrangements.

Sixth, the Wonderspouse called and said to order Chinese for supper - cooking just wasn't going to happen tonight.

Seventh, I realised I hadn't had lunch, so finished a pack of Doritos.

Eighth, I ordered the Chinese, worried about my friend, and failed to concentrate on any of the jobs on my list.

Ninth, I picked up the Wonderspouse and the Chinese. He gave Smudge and Dexter their pills.

Tenth, my best friend's wife rang to update me on his condition. He's comfortable at the moment and looking "brighter" than he has done for several days, though various things are being monitored very closely. She also gave me the number of the ward he's on so I can ring for an update in the morning.

Eleventh, we ate Chinese Takeaway. Best thing of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.