Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Hint of Fall

Ricoh recently announced a firmware update for the GRD III and last night while my wife watched The Amazing Race -- I guess someone has to watch it -- I downloaded the update.

This morning's photographic walk gave me the chance to play with two of the new features -- a high contrast B&W and a Cross Processing mode. I usually shoot RAW and do any B&W conversions with Silver Efex Pro, as most of you are well aware, but I thought if Ricoh has gone to all the trouble to provide this update the least I could do was give it a whirl.

Out of the two new modes, the Cross Processing one appealed most and I particularly like the way the colours have been distored on this shot of the leaves against a chain-link fence.

But it will be back to shooting in RAW tomorrow.

I did meet two men working for AT&T and naturally stopped for a chat. It seems AT&T's customer service were correct in that a major cable in Riverside was malfunctioning but the engineers laughed when I told them the repair date given was October 18.

I guess it was the usual corporate scenario of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing.

And wouldn't you know it, as I was chatting to those two AT&T engineers, a train came through. I took a shot, switching to RAW to do so, but after the results of Cross Processing on this shot, I rather wish I had chosen that mode instead.

But since when did I ever make the right choice at the right time? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.