Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Tropical & Temperate

Most of the day has been occupied watching NFL games on TV. First the Jaguars game against the Bills, which the Jaguars won despite a less than auspicious start. Then came the Cowboys against the Titans. The Cowboys are not the Cowboys of old and they lost.

I have been in America 10 years and I cannot ever rember the Cowboys being 1-3 in a season.

Time for photography was at a premium, especially as I hadn't factored in the Cowboys game coming on straight after the Jaguars game. Initially, I thought I could get out in the car after the Jaguars game ended and take some shots. But, alas, it was not to be.

Consequently, I had to draw on the backyard, only rarely an inspirational setting, but I liked the juxtaposition of the palmetto (tropical/sub-tropical) with the carpet of American Sycamore (temperate) leaves on the lawn.

As an interesting aside, not all those leaves have fallen as a result of it being autumn. The other day I watched a squirrel picking off the American Sycamore leaves, eating the just the end where the leaf was attached to the branch, and then discarding the leaf and the rest of the stem.

Knowing that I was the person who had to pick up all those leaves, it seemed as though there was a glint of contempt in the squirrel's eyes. :-)

Withall those leaves on the lawn, you can probably guess what I will be doing tomorrow.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.