rack focus

By noahd1

Ticker, Times Square

Well, I'm not sure if my BLIP stock is headed up or down, but seems that it's finally reached 100. I know this because I passed by this stock ticker in Times Square yesterday at apparently just the right moment. While I was there someone tapped me on the shoulder and said "photoshop it" and I was like "what?" Wonder what that was all about. There are some crazy loons in Times Square.

I got some BLIP on the advice of a neighbor friend, and, despite numerous temptations to sell, I've held ... and held ... and held, every day, for 100 days. Who knows what the future holds.

I've taken a lot of photos in the last 100 days. If you must know, I've taken over 8000. I've stretched the limits of my hard drive, surely stretched the seemingly limitless patience of my girlfriend, and stretched my own patience as I've struggled to capture something, anything that I can consider blip-worthy. When I started I wasn't sure if something like this would last. Working full time, and trying to make sure our dog doesn't eat a small baby means I often don't have much time to blip and participate in the blip community, but I've done my best. My ability to stay somewhat on track so far is due to the infinite explorability of New York City (in particular Brooklyn and Chelsea), the continued support of people here (thank you in particular to Calvin and wayfarer thank you always for your kind words), and the patience and continued encouragement of my girlfriend. I can't tell you how many nights a week I have forced her to form some kind of no-win opinion on a mostly incomparable set of photos ("this pig or that pig?", "this mattress or this weird hotel?", "this 9/11 memorial or this grafitti"). It's an absurdist exercise really, and yet, despite that, she's usually right (but not always, don't want her getting a big head and all).

I also have to have to call out Silvia in particular for introducing me to this whole thing. She's our upstairs neighbor, a constant blip supporter, Lilly supporter, and an über talented photographer. If you see anything of mine you like, it's probably because I stole it from her.

Milestones are a good time to reflect back, so thought I would post some of my favorites, even if it is a bit self-indulgent:

Me and Lilly
East River, Night
Waiting
Tree Detail, Greenwood Cemetery
Quanta
Stories

And sue me, but I like the pig too. I don't know why, I just like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.