Accidental Tomatoes

By ShutterFingers

Croydon

Croydon Visitor Centre? There's got to be a joke in there somewhere!

Actually, I think Croydon is unfairly maligned. C and I lived there for a while in the early 90's. It wasn't a particularly pleasant experience due to seriously anti-social neighbours in the flat below, but the area itself has quite a lot going on.

I was there tonight to see Martin Simpson, folk-singer and guitarist extraordinaire, at Ruskin House. Although I have a couple of CDs, I haven't seen him live before. In a fairly small hall - capacity about 100 I would think - the sound, and his playing, were amazing. The kind of gig that leaves a bumbling amateur guitarist, like myself, part inspired and part feeling like throwing the instrument away because there's just no point any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.