Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Camden Market

Today I was firmly dragged out of my comfort zone. My middle son has a birthday coming up, and wanted to visit Camden Market as part of his celebrations. Well, it was certainly an experience.

The market is a warren on multiple levels, with stalls full of everything concievable - crafts, vintage clothes, antiques, soaps, herbal remedies, military memorabilia and even fish foot massages. At one point I felt that I was suffering from sensory overload - all the stalls had different types of music playing, there was a strong smell of incense and an unparalleled visual complexity. But there was a real energy and buzz which was great.

Depite the feast of images it actually proved quite difficult to get any good photographs. Many of the alleys were dark and narrow, people were jostling past and getting in the way and most of the shops and stalls had 'No Photography' signs. Give me a wood any day. In the end I chose an image that I hope conveys some of the hustle and bustle of this cosmopolitan place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.