A-Maize-ing Grace

It was a school and work holiday today, so we took advantage of the perfect weather. This afternoon we went to what I thought was a corn maze but turned out to be a Sudan grass maze. (I went back to the Web site and saw that it was indeed billed as a "Huge Maze!" and not a "corn maze.") It was huge (seven acres), and it didn't disappoint, despite the absence of corn.

In fact, when we first got there, the woman selling the tickets didn't charge for my 5-year-old daughter because, as the woman said, "kids that young usually don't L-I-K-E it." She told us how to get out after the first half of the maze if it was too frustrating.

My daughter, as it turned out, loved it and wanted to keep going after we finished the first half. The second half was much more difficult, and we ended up in several dead-ends. Some more than once. After an hour and a half, we finally found our way out (with some help from some teenagers who required either a joke or the chicken dance in payment for a clue). My daughter was such a good sport (except when it came to chicken dancing -- then I had to step up to the plate) and already can't wait to go back next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.