Pit Stop

My daughter didn't have school today, so it was the last day of a four-day weekend. Her kindergarten class has just finished a unit on Eric Carle, and I thought it'd be fun to go to the Eric Carle Museum in Amherst. The museum has a large art studio where docents help people with projects related to the exhibitions, and my daughter and I both agreed that the studio was the best part of the museum.

The drive out to Amherst was beautiful; this is the time of year when I love driving along Route 2, a highway that is lined with maples. I think our foliage is peaking, and the colors are just breathtaking. On the way home, I stopped at a farm stand I remembered from our last trip to Amherst, but it was closed. All we were able to get was this picture.


On a side note, we also stopped by the grave of Emily Dickinson. I wanted to see if I could get a better photo of it. We noticed this little door next to her family plot. Inside was a plastic bag with pens in it marked "Letters to Emily." I think those are violets growing around it, a perfect touch for her.

It's been a busy weekend. Backblipped Sunday and Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.