Ancestors Venetian glass

Either rain or gloom today so ideal conditions to apply the lensbaby macro to my ancestor's venetian glass.

This is the fluted edge of a venetian glass jug that belonged to my great grandmother. She was Norwegian and ended up in Australia and eventually became my Nanas. That's all Mum knows of it's history.

There were two jugs and this one was always Mum's favourite. She tells a wonderful story of of one of my nieces at about age 3 appearing in the doorway singing away and swinging this jug. Somehow disaster was averted and the jug survived. This particular niece turns 21 in a month and would probably kill me if she knew I'd written this ;-)

I've made a start on a few jobs for Mum and Dad today. More await tomorrow.

Although I'm at the other end of the country where the earth isn't moving, I still find myself alert and then having to correct my thinking. I've become used to considering how/where I put things and the freedom to put things down without considering the consequence of a big aftershock is strange. I see I've missed a day of renewed aftershock activity at home. I feel for you guys back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.