CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A green man

I was so stupid yesterday evening. Andrew G. had confirmed that he could come to Minchinhampton Common to play frisbee again and would be bringing his friend Steve. So, after our last debacle, when the three of us staggered home somewhat the worse for injury, I announced I would not be taking risks. Beautiful light in the west and a tiny uplifting breeze made me feel really good to be back playing at what I love. But with the nearly last catch of the day, I thought I would just stretch out and kick-tip the dropping frisbee back up into the air so I could catch it, just as I would easily have done decades ago. I am that much older now but much more fragile; I knew immediately that I had ripped some muscle tissues. It still hurts me even now, despite the long hot soaking in the bath, followed by several saturations with Helena's powerful homemade anti-inflammatory lotion.

I had three separate meetings this morning, with Harry, John and then Sylvain. So limping away from home, I took my Canon to meet them and shot nine frames in all. Harry is a fellow Trustee of our Preservation Trust and I shot him inside his joinery workshop in Piccadilly Mill, with his dog Stimpy. But I was rushing and the fluorescent lights needed more care than I took. Then on to John's house in Lower Street to discuss my Agenda item for next week's main Council meeting. He has been on the Town Council for nearly twenty years and was the Mayor for about ten of the last thirteen years, until last autumn when he stepped down to be Deputy-Mayor. The Council has been Green for most of that time, although I am an independent.

After we had discussed our strategy for the important issue which I want the Council to support, I rushed out of the house but asked if I could Blip him as well. I suggested he keep talking to me as I took my pictures, but in the middle of my fiddling, he suddenly asked if I would be standing for election again next Spring! That for me is quite a big question. I know he wants me to stand. But I then gave a typical politician's response by saying very little in a lot of words.

John is a good egg, another of our local living treasures, known for being a forthright anti-war advocate, Green party activist and keen gardener. The world needs more like him with their commitment, a sense of justice and a willingness to give time for the people in need of help and representation. I thought you might like to meet him here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.