CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Bristol Whitebeam, after emigration

I decided to have a look inside my broken camera to see what was loose inside. I assumed it was the mirror having dropped off its mount again. But it was intact. So I fired it up and it appeared to have an image in the viewfinder. But then as soon as I turned it at any angle other than horizontal, the image started wobbling then disappearing.

I went out in the garden and played around with it, but wasn't satisfied, until I saw the berries of the very rare Bristol Whitebeam. I bought this tree at the Whiteway summer fete a few years ago. It came with a plaintive note from the old owner asking for it to go to a good new home, where it could flourish. Apparently it had been one of just a few grown by Bristol University's botanical department to commemorate the Millennium. It only existed in the wild in the Avon Gorge on a particular steep slope in the ancient woodlands called Leigh Woods. They had decided to try and protect it further by growing a few saplings to spread them a bit further afield.

I contacted the University and was assured that our garden on the underlying limestone hillside, which backs onto grazed wooded pastures that run down to the Lime Brook in the Horns valley, would be ideal to mimic its original natural habitat.

So this spring, I took it from its last pot and planted it in the ground with dear Annie's help. She has planted thousands of trees so I knew it would be appropriate. It has loved its position and produced these berries as its first and only fruit. How clever it is. I shall endeavour to look after it, as it deserves. Bomble can't climb it yet, but he did run halfway up the big sycamore minutes later, which nearly resulted in a blip of him again. But it is the Bristol Whitebeam's day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.