CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Our Lady of the Harvest

At lunchtime, I spent a few hours showing fifteen architectural students from New York various parts of Stroud's built heritage. I am a trustee of the local Preservation Trust and they are wanted to use the Brunel Goods Shed ,which we are responsible for preserving, as an exercise for it's renewal and integration as a community asset for the town. A far cry from the Bronx, I suspect, but I heard of an idea to use derelict land in Manhattan as a community garden space, which i wholly approve of!

Helena made this beautiful assemblage for her weekend workshop last Sunday. Except for the pumpkin, which came from Tesco, nearly all of the colour came from the garden. She calls it Our Lady of the Harvest, inspired by a song of Leonard Cohen.

I mentioned recently that Bomble always likes to keep me company when I go blipping, except of course when he is asleep. I only had a few minutes left, as the batteries of the video camera are very weak through age. Bomble chirruped from afar, jumped up onto the table and rubbed against my arm, before sniffing and then attacking the pumpkin. So though I had a closer shot, which was sharper and better exposed, I prefer this one because he is in it.

The leaves and fruits are already turning over. Change is in the air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.