American Mink

Mustela vison

An introduced animal, and a predator on nesting birds, among other things :(
I can't really warm to them, I'm afraid, but I was glad to catch sight of this one on the Water of Leith, as they can be quite elusive.
Probably a female.

In other news...I was very glad to see the Chilean miners rescued, due to the skills and dedication of the engineers and everyone involved in drilling and making the escape pod, etc.
Rather sickened by the rescue and survival being attributed to some god or other. If a god was responsible for the rescue, it was also responsible for the rock-fall that trapped them underground for over two months!

Edited to add: No problem with the miners' personal faith, if that helped them through a hellish ordeal, that can only be a good thing. What I object to is the uninvolved religious people pointing to the rescue as proof of the power of prayer etc. Insulting to the incredible hard work and dedication of the real rescuers to my mind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.