Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Seated Figure of an Official, Burrell Collection

Another of my favourite exhibits in the Burrell Collection. It is Chinese, Ming Dynasty, dated 1609. Stoneware with enamel on biscuit - whatever that is, I must find out.

I wanted to Blip his head against the background of the autumn colours in the wood behind the building. I think he has a very grand pose. He is larger than lifesize.

I attended one of the themed tours, with the rather uninteresting title of "Containers : to fill or not to fill? That is the question". There were only five in the group, and we spent a fascinating hour considering items such as the huge Warwick Vase, Chinese funerary urns, armour, and beautifully crafted sweet bags. Good to learn from an enthusiastic and very knowledgeable guide.

SF

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.