TrishaR

By TrishaR

Boys Love Sticks

On holiday today. Promised Cameron I would take him to Willowbrae Fishery for lunch, then a walk round the fishery (which is well stocked with trout and salmon) and then an adventure into the wild orchard (which dates back to the 12th century) maybe not these particular trees but it is old. It skirts the banks of the Tay on one side and the railway and road on the other. There are many pear and apple trees. At the entrance Cameron found this large stick and brought it along to knock down the higher up fruit. Then we used it to carry the bag back to the carrying an end each.

After this we set off in the car for a 10 minute drive to Elcho Castle as Cameron hadn't been there before. As we walked through the gate we were met by this woman running frantically up to us shouting "you can't come in here, it's closed for the season, the gate should not have been open". Jeez, it's the school holidays I thought, why would they be closed so early, would it not be better waiting till end of October to close for the season? Oh yes, and you can't get a cup of tea and cake anywhere after 5pm at any time of year! Although I think things have improved since I was young - used to only be the Wimpey Bar in Perth on the Transport Cafe in Blackford (where I grew up) for young teenagers. Anyway, Cameron was most upset not getting into the Castle. Will take him to Stirling Castle soon.

It's my birthday tomorrow and I am going out for lunch with my husband.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.