Bumblings of a bee

By Beesarefine

Camberwell Beauty

My lovely lovely butterflies.

This is a very small piece of a massive series of murals, painted by Oscar Romp, and used to decorate the corridors of Kings College Hospital in Camberwell.

The murals depicted life in and out of hospital in the surrounding areas (Camberwell, Peckham, Brixton etc). They showed life-size figures going about their lives and I adored looking at them if I had to go to the hospital.

Sadly, they were taken down when major renovations and building work took place.

Oscar was a friend of one of my neighbours and I used to tell him how much I liked his work, so he gave me a part to keep!

I am just trying to decide where to hang it in this house.


(Need I mention the butterflies are called Camberwell Beauty?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.