Bumblings of a bee

By Beesarefine

Quince

When I first saw the little tree in the garden of the house I am renting, I thought it was an old apple tree. Once the fruit matured it was clear it wasn't. Took a guess as to what it might be and googled to confirm my suspicions!

Not particularly evident in this picture, but the fruit mainly grow in pairs on the branches. I think they look like tiny pumpkins - should have saved this for Halloween!!

They reminded me of the jar of quince preserve from Iran which has been lurking in the cupboard, unopened (not any more!). Bought in one of my favourite shops.

Persepolis is in Peckham and it is run by an Iranian man and his English wife. I loved going there to buy cardammon tea, dates from Bam, carrot jam and sabzi polo (herbs for rice). As well as groceries, they sell ornaments, pipes, tea sets, carpets books and music - a true Aladin's cave in an unpreposessing corner of South London.
I do so miss being able to go there now I have moved back to the Midlands..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.