Famine

Today was more productive than yesterday (which wouldn't be at all hard to achieve). I got some outstanding correspondence out of the way before lunch and made my way in to town afterwards to tidy up some other loose ends.

I had everything cleared up before 4.00, so had plenty of time to go on a bit of a wander in the Docklands area, along the length of the north bank of the river to the Point Theatre and then back by tram on the new spur line which runs through the Financial Services district. The sky had looked a bit threatening to begin with but the nasty dark clouds cleared away quickly and it remained dry and brightened up nicely.

The blip is of Rowan Gillespie's Famine memorial which is on Custom House Quay. I've long been an admirer of Rowan's work, and this piece is one of his most powerful.

Back home I made up for months of neglect and called in to see my next-door neighbour Susan. We had a good chat over a cup of coffee and I promised to call in again for a longer visit before the week is out.

Now it's time to get things ready for tomorrow's installation of my new fibre-optic cable broadband. Fingers crossed that this will mark an end to the on-again-off-again problems which have been plaguing me since the beginning of September. I've been threatening to switch provider for ages now, but this ongoing problem was just the spur I needed to force me into actually doing something about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.