Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Lost Art

Here it is, my little pile from yesterday as it looked on the stair. I just had to share it with you because today, when I went up the stairs on my lunch hour again (this stairway is actually at my office) I really could scarcely believe that it ever caught my eye in the first place. The light must have been hitting the little fluffy seeds just right yesterday because nothing about it looked amazing today. I think a few of the seeds blew away in the night. The little spotted thing in the corner turned out to be a wee wing (which I moved to the middle of the pile today). I had believed it to be a feather from the blip, not actually even noticing it yesterday.

This started me thinking that, not only is perspective a powerful part of how we see the world, but timing as well. Yesterday was my day to see this amazing little corner of the stair. Today, I wouldn't have looked twice if I hadn't seen the beauty yesterday. Because I DID see yesterday, I was able to appreciate it still today, even in it's ordinariness. I realized that when I see the beauty that surfaces in others, a little more on some days than on others...I see them differently the next day too. My heart retains the special appreciation for them that I already felt. Thus, kinship grows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.