Staring Contest

It just sits there and looks at me with its cavernous orbital sockets.
I received this guy/gal on Saturday. It's a veritable human skull.

You can't get these anymore.. you can only buy plastic/plaster ones. Somehow both my mom and my dad each had their own skull from their medical school/nursing school days. (Or my mom got hers because she likes to draw the human form..)
Anyhow, this one is considered a virgin skull because it isn't marked on at all. The other one is going to be sent to me so I can delineate the bones of the skull. Though, I think I'm doing a pretty good job of it myself with my Netter's Anatomy book. You can actually see where the middle meningeal artery used to lie inside the skull, on the other side of the pterion region.
It's fascinating.

And also slightly creepy when I turn my lights off at night and leave this sitting on my coffee table. Next to a pumpkin.
Seems fitting for Halloween. But it's not a prop... And I'm not going to be serving candy out of it. Surprisingly, I have a little more tact than that.

5 things that make me happy:
1. My sister, Caroline, and Evie are coming to visit me starting tomorrow. The girls are going to have a slumber party with me Thursday night. I already bought skinny cow mini fudge pops, blackberry izzes, apple juice (Caroline's allergic to milk), and two different brownie mixes.. because I already have the bacon chocolate chip pancake mix for Friday morning. (Yes, I'm going through a bit of a chocolate craze.)
2. Brighton and I started the couch-to-5K-running program yesterday and I feel fantastic today. Going to work out tonight after class.
3. I have all day to work on my Health Disparities paper, homework for Epidemiology, and reading for Histology and Immunology.
4. I already went to buy more steelhead trout fillets. They are scrumptiously delicious.
5. I'm blipping and it's only noon. I am finally back on track.

6. BONUS. I'm starting the 5 things again. That, in itself, makes me happy. I need this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.