Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Not quite a frost....

There seem to have been quite a few frosty pictures lately, and last night's weather forecast gave me hope that I would wake up to a sparkling, crystalline world. But no - in Peterborough it stubbornly stayed above freezing, and all we had was a heavy dew.

Despite the glorious autumn sunshine I felt a bit out of sorts today and none of my photographs really pleased me. I tried to capture the chickens having their morning scratch round the garden (they have to be supervised because of the fox) but they wouldn't co-operate, hiding in the shadows, or moving off with extraordinary speed whenever I had them in the frame.

I took the dogs out at lunchtime and managed a few wildlife shots, but while some were pleasant enough, none really stood out. However, I was surprised by the number of invertebrates basking in the midday sunshine, including a green shieldbug, a nursery web spider and a common darter dragonfly. Photos of these can be seen here.

In the end I went with one of the first shots of the day - dew drops on some young greater celandine leaves - a bit cliched, but it was Alex's favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.