Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Prostrate pillar

I saw this scene yesterday and photographed it from a different angle and then forgot to process it to put before the CEO. Please don't tell. I will never be able to find another job at my age. :-)

Today, I decided to get the broken pillar in the foreground. It would appear that whoever constructed it had not heard of foundations. It is built flush to ground level with a short wooden stump to keep it in place. I would guess that if I leaned on the other pillars with sufficient force, they too would end up like this.

I am no construction expert by any means but it looks to me like very shoddy workmanship, probably trying to keep the costs down. It will also be interesting to see how long the broken pillar continues to obstruct the sidewalk.

A week? Two weeks? A month? Three months? Six months? Remember this is Jacksonville, Florida, where things move extremely slow.

And I like how the sidewalk has been turned into a beach. You couldn't make it up, could you? :-)

I preferred the B&W version but the CEO went with colour. After yesterday's omission I was only too happy to concur. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.