a town called E.

By Eej

Footsteps


When I Blipped last week about how my dad recorded daily temperatures and rainfall, my oldest sister e-mailed me to say that she had just gotten a weather station and all she needs now is time to start recording.
I wrote back how extraordinary it is, to me, how we are more and more starting to be like our dad. Even me, who spend most of her life declining (and not always politely) to eat the things my dad grew, now has a proud veggie patch.
And today I planted bulbs: 50 pink daffodils, red and black tulips and a mix 'n match of bulbs that were dug up during recent border work. I'm not holding my breath for that batch, but if they do come back it will be wild. And wonderful :)

It made me sad to realise that while I often found it hard to come up with a subject I could talk about with him, I now have a wealth of subjects I know he'd love ... and no more papa.


Pfffff. Autumn makes me so darn melancholy.
tIs better than defeated though :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.