The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Lengthening shadows

Dutiful son day. Brought maw in and sat her on the couch to watch the old firm game. Selfless me. And gave her some seasonal pumpkin soup before sending her on her way. That was about it. A pile of Sunday papers and a list of things to accomplish in the next two weeks: my last two weeks of freedom.
And I took a walk up to the graveyard to visit old pop who has been gone 12 years this week and was stuck by the lengthening shadows of the stones across the grass. I was also delighted to see that from that high vantage point Inchcolm was just visible. Next time I'm sailing down there, which will be springtime, I'll look up to the hills and see if I can make out the trees in the graveyard.

'Tis evening on the moorland free,
     The starlit wave is still:
Home is the sailor from the sea,
     The hunter from the hill.

Dad liked old Housman, so he did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.