Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Motion Blur

Part of the Week 3 assignment on the OU course is to try motion blur. I had plans to go to the weir a couple of miles from here, but party preparation and clearing up put an end to that idea. So I tried a couple of things at home. This was the most successful, slowly pouring sugar off a spoon. Used the tripod and focused on the lip of the sugar bowl.

I also tried to Blip BA playing his guitar, however the problem was that his fingers, hands and the guitar all move when he is playing, so none of these shots were sharp enough to use. I was a bit disappointed, as the blurb created when he was playing "Blackbird" by The Beatles was fantastic. We have agreed to have another go, when he will try not to move the guitar.

Other ideas I have are to Blip the boys when drumming, capture the bow when BA is playing his double bass, and when someone is doing some fast chopping of food in the kitchen.

I have also been out in the freezing cold to try some night photography. A big disappointment. First I couldn't work out why I was getting two moons, then I realised I would have to remove my UW filter. Tried varous things, but nothing worked. The moon, street lights. Everything had some part blown out. A view over the city was just too noisey, and somehow not sharp enough. Got too cold, so gave up and came in.

The party was a great success, and everyone enjoyed the evening. Only a few days until he is really 18.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.