Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Cold and blue view from the allottment

Another cold, frosty and very blue start to today. It seems very unusual to be experiencing so many frosty mornings in October. In recent years we haven't experienced hard frosts before November.

My morning activity took me to the rainforest as I prepared for my next session with Sheffield teachers. It was interesting to read the Observer's `Environment' article yesterday which was focused on illegal logging in the Borneo rainforest. (Good timing - given my current area of research!) See Borneo Timber Mafia & Illegal Logging

I'd definitely had enough by lunchtime and I was anxious to dig up the rest of the potatoes on the allottment. It was still very cold, even in the sun, but the brilliant blue of the sky meant it was a real pleasure to be up there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.