Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Studying The Menu

Miami Beach is a photographer's paradise -- good light and lots of good subjects for street photography. In choosing back blips, I have been spoiled for choice.

After five hours of walking and shooting, it was time for a rest and a cup of coffee. I chose the Tapas Y Tintos on Espanola Way, a street supposedly styled to resemble a Spanish village. Having never been to Spain, I don't know how good the re-creation is.

I always associated Tapas with Spanish cuisine, so I was somewhat taken aback when the girl in the bar was conversing with her beau in Italian. The authenticity took a bit of a hit with that one. Even more surprising was the cup of coffee I ended up with. Italians are renowned for their coffee-making but this cup of capuccino tasted dreadful -- hot milky water with just a hint of coffee, not my cup of tea at all, if you will excuse the mixed metaphor. :-)

Sitting outside, consuming the awful beverage -- I was glad I ordered a glass of water as well, in order to take the taste away -- three Jamaicans -- two middle-aged women and a young man, whom I assume was son of one of the women, sat down at the table opposite. One woman was striking because of the large straw hat she wore. She just begged to be photographed and I duly obliged as she was studying the menu.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.