Wasp

This colourful character was sipping nectar from the Angelica archangelica flowers this morning.  My attempts to identify it have failed.  It is very similar in size (2cm), shape and general appearance to the NZ native parasitic wasp, Xanthocryptus novozealandicus, or the lemon tree borer parasite.  However, although the colours are the same they appear in different patterns. Best seen large.

Earlier I saw one in the greenhouse, where I have two grapevines.  The lemon tree borer wasp also attacks grape vine borer, so I'm hoping this one does the same job.

Thank you to all who looked at, commented on and favourited  my blip from yesterday.  I was amazed at the response, and I'm delighted that so many of you liked it.

One year ago:  Greenfinch border dispute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.