Life with Gaia

By happyyoga

Daniel and his friend

Not the best photo, but an unusual day. Daniel is an unusual cat. He knows, I suppose, that I like to help the animals whenever I can, and so he brings home little ones that have fallen out of their nests. I never quite understood what he was doing until today, when he made it quite evident to me. I kept moving this little baby rat under various trees hoping that his mother might come for him, but Daniel kept retrieving him and bringing him back (totally unscathed) . Finally he put the little thing right in the house.

"Ok, I get it" I told him, and tried to feed the little guy. I have had no luck with it, and even went to the pet store and got a bottle and some proper nursing substitute, but he is just too little. He needs his mom.

Daniel stands watch. Every once in a while he gently licks the little guy. I wish I could help more. I wish we could find the mother. I have watched mother's take back lost babies before, despite the scent of human upon them. But, I really don't think it is going to happen this time. Still, I am glad he has Daniel the Cat to keep him company. He does perk up when Daniel licks him.

I know, it sounds nuts. But, life is life is life. And all babies are sweet, even baby rats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.